spring forward: green stuff

 

 

EDOC8200

 

aaaaaaaaaaauuuuuuuuuuuuuuuugggghhhhhhhhhhh yyoouu guuyys pregnaaaanccyyy isss disssgussssttiinnnggg aaauughh.

 

I haven’t wanted to cook or eat much of anything for the past 3 months. morning sickness is real and it is not joking around. a few times just opening my refrigerator and smelling the inside of it sent me running to the bathroom. I could write a whole post about how to stay alive when everything makes you barf (see: tums, oranges..thats kind of it) but the idea of writing it makes me want to barf, so it will have to wait.

this has been rough and its getting me down. one of the things I miss the most is the feeling of being hungry and enjoying what I’m eating. I don’t want to eat a steak, but I want to want to eat a steak, if that makes sense. I’m looking forward to cooking again soon, once the first trimester Vomit Olympics is over, especially since spring is approaching and all the tastiest, tiniest and tenderest stuff is starting to bloom and grow.

so, green recipes! my minty pea soup is one of my favorites, I have dreams about cella’s avocado mousse tarts, and greune sosse goes with everything. a few vibrant green recipes on my list to try this year:

grilled bread with lemony pea masharugula with roasted salmon and new potatoes. fresh green bean, walnut and feta salad. cucumber/honeydew/lime/mint sangria. tartine of peas, pickled onion, and egg. artichoke spinach pizza with white beans. nettle pesto pasta. are there any green-hued recipes that you would add to this list?

so. until this baby decides to stop trying to kill me and my unrelenting nausea finally goes away, I will continue hoarding recipes. and once I feel up to it I will storm into my kitchen with a whole arsenal of new ideas. barfing aside, I’m feeling super grateful and hopeful and ready for all the newness coming our way. new blossoms on the trees, new recipes to try, a new tiny mouth to feed.

xo j.

~ by julialala on March 25, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

