Polenta.

polenta, sausage, vodka sauce

We both love polenta. It’s a delicious substitute for pasta, and you can put almost anything on top of it, sweet or savory. You can buy it in a box and make it soft, or you can get it in tubes… usually in the pasta aisle of TJs/Whole Foods.  It’s inexpensive and so easy to cook.  I can’t get enough of the above recipe so I haven’t expanded my polenta repetoire, but I watched my Aunt C mix cheese with soft polenta and top it with sauteed mushrooms and a poached egg. Best breakfast of my life!

Polenta Coins with Fancy Sausage and Vodka Sauce

-1 tube of polenta, sliced into 1/2 coins.
-1 jar of vodka sauce (Trader Joe’s makes the best.)
-A couple of fancy sausages. Aidell’s pre-cooked are yum, or Whole Foods usually has good fresh ones that are like, “goat cheese lavender” or “applewood smoked cherryskin.”
-Chopped garlic, tomatoes, onion, squash, peppers, eggplant… any/all of the above. 

-I cut the sausage into coins and cook them, and at the end add veggies to sautee. J takes the casing off of her sausage because it grosses her out, but I don’t care (= too much work.)
-Polenta should be fried in a big pan with a little olive oil and/or butter to lubricate. 
-Sauce is microwaved, or stove heated if you’re feeling fancy.

Once polenta coins are toasty golden-brown, arrange a few on a plate, cover with sauce, and top with sausage/veggie mix. Dust with parmesan. Drink wine. 


~ by marcella on October 29, 2009.

One Response to “Polenta.”

  1. I just had the best soft polenta of my life the other night. I am totally feeling the polenta vibe=)

Leave a Reply

 
