endive boats.

This recipe came to me by way of my Aunt Mary. She wasn’t really my Aunt but that’s what I called her. She was married to my Uncle Ralphy, who isn’t really my Uncle but that’s what I call him. Aunt Mary was a lady, like ladies used to be. Poised, self-sufficient and smart as a whip. She served my parents and I these delicate Endive Boats in her living room in Manhattan. They were so elegant and fresh and pretty to look at and it is in her memory that I’ve been making Endive Boats with Crab Salad for nearly every party I’ve had since. The endive is slightly bitter and crisp, the crab slightly sweet and creamy. I consider them a throw back to parties of yore when life looked like Mad Men, when things were lovely and dignified like Aunt Mary herself.

endive lettuce

canned crab

lemon

mayo or yogurt

horseradish

fresh chives

s & p

mix the crab, yogurt or mayonaisse, horseradish, lemon and salt and pepper to taste. place one spoonful in the “hull”, if you will, of your endive boat. snip some chives over the top. If you’re feeling fancy (read: rich) top them with a little salty caviar. arrange in a pretty pattern. put on your pearl necklace. enjoy.

~ by JuliaTriplett on January 19, 2010.

4 Responses to “endive boats.”

  1. you say “en-dayve” i say “on-deev”. websters says both, so i guess we won’t have to add this to our list of long-standing feuds (see “frond vs. frawn”)

  2. Sounds so good! Really though how can you go wrong with crab salad?!?! They look great too:)

  3. After lurking around your blog (and finding myself drooling) for some time, I had to tell you how much I LOVE it!! You girls have done a great job and I look forward to ALL of the yummy things you’ve yet to say/write about :)

    p.s. Endive Boats are a staple our house and on our “party list”…for anything you’d eat with chips, replace with endive (i.e. hummus, etc)…YUM!!

Leave a Reply

 
