Gruene Sosse (Green Sauce)

Spring is sprung! Plant life is budding all shades of green! So lets all have an allergy attack and indulge in the fresh produce of springs bounty!

This is a German recipe, specifically from the region of Hessia where my mom is from. It’s Germany’s answer to Argentina’s chimichurri or Italy’s salsa verde (thanks, Google). But this one has dairy in it, because it’s German.

It’s traditionally made by combining yogurt/mayonnaise/buttermilk, oil and vinegar, salt and pepper, and a combination of seven specific herbs (borage, sorrel, cress, chervil, chives, parsley and salad burnet) in a food processor. It comes out really velvety, fresh and tangy and a very pretty bright green. In Germany it is served with all manner of things, usually hard boiled eggs and boiled potatoes or french fries, roast beef or fish. The picture above was taken the last time I went to Germany, it was all so delicious washed down with sparkling apple wine.

When I make it I take liberty with the herbs I use, mostly because I don’t know what any of those words are. I use basil, cilantro, flat leaf parsley, mint and chives. If c. makes it she will add dill because thats just who she is. I used full fat Greek yogurt and lemon instead of vinegar. Throw a reasonable amount of said ingredients in a blender, I use my hand held IMMERSION BLENDER because I’m rich. In less than 10 seconds you’re done and you are ready to retire with your evening meal. Make as much of it as you want to because it keeps really well and goes great with almost anything, thin it out with some oil and clear vinegar and now you have salad dressing! The last time I made it I plopped a healthy dollop next to some salmon and polenta coins. Then I married it. Needless to say, it was a spring wedding.

j.

~ by JuliaTriplett on April 15, 2010.

2 Responses to “Gruene Sosse (Green Sauce)”

  1. […] minty pea soup is one of my favorites, I have dreams about cella’s avocado mousse tarts, and greune sosse goes with everything. a few vibrant green recipes on my list to try this […]

  2. This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of
    your fantastic post. Also, I’ve shared your website in my
    social networks!

Leave a Reply

 
