veggie chile rellenos.

 

UGH sometimes I get sooo sick of my own cooking, everything starts tasting the same. So then I eat sandwhiches and yogurt for 2 weeks until *SMACK* I get inspired again. This time it’s vegetarian chile rellenos. I don’t know why vegetarian, don’t ask. I know it’s freakish. I just FELT it.

– several large peppers. I found some deep green ones in the mexican section of the produce area. I chose them because they had the largest cavity with which to stuff cheeses, they were a teensy bit spicy and perfect.

– jack and goat cheese

– corn. mushrooms. spinach. garlic. onions.

cut off the stems and remove the seeds and ribs from the peps. chop up the veggies real small and sautee them. once thats done remove the pan from heat and add tons of grated jack cheese and goat cheese and combine w the veggies. preheat your ov to 425. fill the peps w the mixture, place in a non stick baking dish and bake for about 40-ish mins. i covered the dish with foil for the first half of baking so the filling would cook and melt, then removed the foil so the peppers would brown.

I made a wee sauce by mixing greek yogurt, lemon juice and a can of salsa verde. a few black beans, some sliced avocado. man, its nice to cook again.

~ by JuliaTriplett on May 26, 2010.

One Response to “veggie chile rellenos.”

  1. That sounds delish, Miss Julia…very creative version of this favorite of mine! I’m glad you’re back to cooking.
    Love, Momma

Leave a Reply

 
