dark n’ stormy

 

Mmmmm wintry coziness.  I had never heard of these before and then I heard about them twice in a matter of weeks and I was like wtf is this. A (few) Dark and Stormy(ies) would be an excellent pre-Thanksgiving dinner cocktail(s). The ginger is spicy, the rum is warming.

While spending a long weekend with my tiny friend Lexi recently she made herself a Dark and Stormy while I mainlined all of her white wine through an IV drip so I could use my mouth for chips and dips. She offered me a sip of her cocktail and it was really really really good. Then I heard about it again from friend and coworker Sarah when she ordered one at a bar.

So, because I’m apparently years behind the curve (this band called Coldplay? Unreal!!! These guys, seriously, super talented musicians. Check them out!) and everyone already knows about this drink, I’m going to present the recipe to you as if it’s new information that I’ve discovered. Bundle yourself in your favorite autumnal sweater, noodle up by the fire place (see picture) and fix yourself a couple of these bad boys.

Happy Thanksgiving!

 Check it.

Ice

1/4 lime (optional, for garnish)

2 ounces dark rum (recommended: Goslings Black Seal Bermuda Black Rum)

10 ounces of ginger beer

 j.

~ by JuliaTriplett on November 24, 2010.

One Response to “dark n’ stormy”

  1. wow, that sounds delish.Yes, I’m very much behind the times and have never heard of that cocktail, but really, I’m behind on the cocktail front…Cuba LIbre for me, yeah.Anyway, good to have you here by the fire. NOw, where’s my drink???

Leave a Reply

 
