creamy caramalized onion soup.

 

It has been COLD in NorCal this winter, I’ll tell you what. I’ve been sleeping in a bath robe and socks and when I walk outside sometimes my face-skin hurts. The other night I was tempted to just set myself on fire.

I made this soup a few times this winter. It’s salty and warm and velvety, I served it in tea cups. here are the ingreds:

6 vidalia onions. 8 shallots. 4 leeks. 4 whole cloves of garlic. dry white vermouth. veggie or chicken broth. heavy cream or half and half. butter. nutmeg. s & p.

roughly chop onions/shallots/leeks/garlic, it will eventually be pureed so it doesnt have to be pretty. caramalize chopped mix in a whole bunch of butter on low heat until it all turns translucent and golden brown, about 25 mins. add about 4 cups of broth, 1 cup of vermouth and s &p to taste. boil on low for about 25 mins. blend the whole thing in a blender or food processor until smooth and chunk-free. add 1 cup of heavy cream, grate in a little nutmeg and keep warm on low. serve in cute tea cups (for an appetizer) or bowls (for an entree), garnish with more s & p/balsamic onions/snipped chives/CRUMBLED CRIPSY BACON PEICES/whatever the eff you want.

sip. wine. yes.

j.

~ by JuliaTriplett on January 4, 2011.

One Response to “creamy caramalized onion soup.”

  1. omg this made my winter. so glad i got to eat some of yours instead of having to make it myself! soooo good! THANKS LUH

Leave a Reply

 
