peach crostini with stracciatella.

I tend to disassociate when I’m exercising, it’s how my mind protects my body from horrendous, horrendous pain. Here’s what happened in my brain today.

I’ve taken a lover. His name is Rory…San..fren..jen..son. He’s Swiss. After a week in Rome co-chairing the annual International Psychologists Who Are Geniuses conference we’ve decided to holiday on the Amalfi Coast. ‘Work hard, play hard!’ Rory and I always say to each other. After days spent tripping through olive groves and cliff-diving, my already olive-toned skin is a deep brown (shut up this is my fantasy, I already told you.) It’s late afternoon and I’m wearing a silk emerald green number, a whisper of a dress, and very expensive. These are the small luxuries that my new life as the world’s best therapist has afforded me. A server brings us this, peach crostini with stracciatella, and a bottle of rose wine. Looking out over the Med, Rory and I lean into out respective chaises and toast. What a wonderful life we’ve made for ourselves! Oh hahaha! Cheers! *clink* Well darling I suppose we should change clothes for the evening, the sunset sailboat tour leaves at seven thir…………………….what’s this. Rory is presenting me with a delicate tortoise shell jewelry box. He asks me to open it? Well, alright. It’s….I am taken aback. I am in shock. Could this be?! An art deco-style engagement ring set in platinum?! My bosom heaves, I’m shvitzing! I will, Rory! I will!! As we board the sailboat for a celebratory cruise, bottle of Prosecco in hand, my green dress blowing in the balmy twilight breezes, I call back to the server “Email my friends and family that recipe for the peach crostini, will you Alejandro? They were so delicious! Grazie!” And then Rory and I go on an evening sail, where I don’t get cold and my nose doesn’t run at all.

So here’s the recipe that Alejandro emailed, he sent it like I asked.

you’ll need: 2 peaches. 1 scallion. chile flakes. olives oil. 1/2 lemon. salt/pep. 1 loaf country-style sourdough cut into 1 inch slices. 1 garlic clove. 1 container of stracciatella cheese, can be substituted with ricotta or burrata, any cheese that’s creamy and very mild.

combine thin peach slices, a sprinkle of chile flakes, chopped scallion, a squirt of olive oil, lemon juice and s & p to taste. brush your bread slices with olive oil and toast or grill them. once they’re browned rub them with a garlic clove. spread stracciatella on the toast and top with peach mixture, sprinkle with salt and pep. board the vessel with Rory and live happily ever after.

j.

~ by JuliaTriplett on June 20, 2011.

6 Responses to “peach crostini with stracciatella.”

  1. OMG, Julia, that was really funny. I’m so glad it was I who got to share the Peach Crostini with you on the porch, and the rose wine…not that fellow Rory. It was delish. And our noses didn’t drip. Love you!

  2. any relation to Harvey Manfrengensenden?

  3. yup. his nephew. super hawt.

  4. My dear, you had me for a moment! Love the fantasy, and the receipe makes me droll. My best to you, Heidi and PG!

  5. Ooops! I am not “droll.” I am drooling! Receipe makes me DROOL!

  6. Annatha! You are most certainly not droll! I hope you’re eating well and staying cool this summer xo

Leave a Reply

 
