the thinking woman’s hot pocket.

so, hey. I’ve been stuck in funemployment limbo and not really cooking much lately, I’ve mostly been eating sandwiches. I say that without the slightest hint of sorrow as I happen to love the shit out of sandwiches (see my post entitled SANDWICHES). but now I feel a surge of culinary juices and I’m ready to reenter the kitchen spatulas blazing. so here’s what happened.

HAND PIES, they’re called. half-moon shaped and filled with meats and creamy items both savory and sweet.

the savory one pictured above I filled with left-over shredded chicken that I sauteed for a long time with a can of tomatoes, 1 yellow onion, tons of garlic, cilantro, mexican-y spices like paprika and turmeric, and a can of corn. you could really do whatever you want, seasoned ground turkey or carnitas would be delish, or veggie sausage if you’re a bird. so then I took some pastry dough and used an upturned bowl to cut it into circles about 6 inches in diameter. then I filled and pressed down the edges with a fork like so.

remember to cut three little vent-slits so it cooks evenly inside. I brushed them with a little butter and baked them for about 30 mins until they turned golden brown. then, because once I have an idea I latch onto it like it’s the last idea I’ll ever have, I made dessert ones. the same process only smaller in size, filled with strawberries, cream cheese and cinnamon and sprinkled with chunky raw sugar crystals. they looked like this!

nom nom.

xo j.

~ by JuliaTriplett on September 29, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
