minty pea soup.

 

sweet spring is your
time is my time is our
time for springtime is lovetime
and viva sweet love
(ee cummings)
 

story time. bear with me. in a recovery group I ran on easter sunday the topic was spring-themed; renewal, hope, second chances, and the like. I asked my clients to describe second chances they’d been given in their recovery, and one man offered: “whats been most healing has been the second chance I gave myself. for many years I didn’t feel worthy of forgiveness for some of the things I’d done. now I’m starting to feel worthy of letting a few good things happen to me again.”

WOW. am I ever lucky to witness moments like that. and ya dude, me too.

now I had no intention of celebrating easter because I don’t………..care………about it. but I AM super into finding the non-jesusy meaning of it. that things regrow after a thaw (and it has been a long ass winter). that life is circular, not linear. that its time to do some spring cleaning in my heart, emotionally swiffer out the yuck and make room. and, for the love of all that is holy, that it’s time to eat.

preferrably something vibrant, from the earth, and made with love. something like minty pea soup!

saute a whole minced onion, chopped scallions and garlic in butter. add splashes of fun things, like wine and veggie stock. add a huge ass bag of flash frozen peas and as many fistfuls of fresh basil as you want. salt/pep. simmer. snip snip some fresh mint from your moms herb garden, or wherever you can find it (neighbors yard?). I used about 10 leaves, next time I’d use more. puree the whole thing, add a half cup of heavy whipping cream, and keep it warm. right before serving sprikle on some fresh shaved parm and a few chopped mint leaves.

springtime is lovetime. xo j.

~ by JuliaTriplett on April 9, 2012.

5 Responses to “minty pea soup.”

  1. Asked at Target for an “EmotIonal Swiffer”, but only got puzzled looks from the redshirts. WTF?

    • Emotional Swiffers are kept in a special secret section of Target, along with bottles of white wine and Jewel cds. Oh and sweat pants. I’ll point it out to you next time.

  2. Oh no way! three cheers for hot Alaskans!

  3. […] green recipes! my minty pea soup is one of my favorites, I have dreams about cella’s avocado mousse tarts, and greune sosse […]

Leave a Reply

 
