green eggs and ham, all grown up.

IMG_3656

as you can see I was half-way through eating this when I paused long enough to take a picture. I’ve written posts about things similar to this before, but variations on eggs benedict happens to be my favorite all time meal and I think it deserves as much attention as possible.

instead of using an english muff as the base I’ve started using the frozen potato pancakes from trader joes. they brown easily in a hot pan, are perfectly seasoned and mercifully gluten free (the bloating, you guys. it’s a real thing). top that with a perfectly poached egg or 2 (see my post from a million years ago, “the perfect poach”). I browned a few slices of thin ham, you could easily make this vegetarian, but my man is having love affair with breakfast meat. a few slices of avo, and now the finishing touch: this weird little green sauce I made. one whole bunch of cilantro, 3 jalapenos with seeds, a half cup of coconut milk, a cup of kefir, juice from a whole lemon, salt and pepper. its herbaliscious and spicy and fresh.

have this and a few cups of strong coffee in the morning and you’ll be ready to take on the world!

xo j.

~ by JuliaTriplett on January 31, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
