kinda sugar free vanilla cream peanut butter not quite cheesecake pie.

mmmm.

IMG_4182

 

 

my dad was diabetic and because of that, as a family, we were always on a full investigative search for the best sugar free desserts. back in the 90s and early 2000s his options were pretty limited, I think he’d have had so much more to chose from now. I remember having these sad little hard candies laying around the house, they tasted like the way bathroom cleaners smell. like, ya there’s some mixed berry in there but its only there trying to mask some seriously jacked-up shit. but he had such a sweet tooth he’d eat them anyway, poor guy.

we’ve been on a no sugar diet for about a month, trying to slim down for the wedding and generally be healthier. that means obviously no desserts but also no fruit, no carbs, and we have to stick to a strict list of sugar free veggies and protein. did you know that regular milk has tons of sugar? I didn’t. the cool part is that calories don’t count, meaning you can eat as much bacon and cheese as you want and believe me, we do. that being said, its not for everybody and I’m not here to sell you on anything, just to talk about delicious food. if you want to read about the diet, here.

so anyway we’re both doing pretty well, we’ve lost a little bit of weight and it feels good. but oh my god sandwiches. oh my god noodles. oh my sweet jesus cereal and oranges and creamy soups and crusty bread and ALL THE BEST THINGS HAVE SUGAR. so here is my creation: mostly sugar free creamy vanilla peanut buttery pie maybe kind of cheese cake type thing. I say “mostly” because there’s peanut butter in the crust and peanut butter has a little bit of sugar in it. because of course it does. you’ll also notice the ingredients are VERY rich, but also sugar free.

pie crust:  1 stick of melted butter. 2 large table spoons of peanut butter. 1 spoon of almond meal. all mixed together. pour that into a pie tin and bake on 400 for 25 mins. at this point it won’t get hard, just kind of melty and bubbly, thats ok. it will harden later.

pie filling: 1 box of sugar free vanilla pudding. a lot of ricotta cheese. a generous sprinkle of both nutmeg and cinnamon. a pour of sugar-free vanilla extract. all mixed together.

after the pie crust has cooled a little you can pour the pie filling over it, and chill in the fridge for at least an hour. during this time for some reason, probably having to do with science, the crust turns into something resembling peanut brittle. its probably all the butter, I don’t know I stopped asking questions because it was SO GOOD I WAS TOO BUSY EATING. I also made one with a combo of sugar free chocolate and pistachio pudding.

my pa could have eaten this, he would have loved it so much, and that makes me really happy.

xo j.

~ by JuliaTriplett on March 18, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
